29 permanent deacons to be ordained for diocese May 19

By: By Tom Dermody

Twenty-nine men will be ordained to the permanent diaconate for the Diocese of Peoria during a 10:30 a.m. Mass at St. Mary’s Cathedral in Peoria on Saturday, May 19.

Bishop Daniel R. Jenky, CSC, will preside at the ordination rites, which cap a five-year selection, discernment and formation process for the diocese’s ninth class of permanent deacons and their wives.

“They are a very, very talented group of deacons and wives,” said Msgr. Charles Beebe, episcopal vicar for the permanent diaconate. The group will bring “many different and varied gifts to our church in the Diocese of Peoria.”

The size of the ordination class means that seating at the cathedral will be by ticket only. Each deacon candidate will receive 21 tickets for family and friends.

The new deacons range in age from 40 to 65 and represent 26 different parishes. Following ordination, nearly all will be assigned to assist their home parishes.

Five parishes are gaining two deacons, including St. Mary’s, Bloomington; St. John’s, Clinton; St. Matthew’s, Champaign; Corpus Christi, Galesburg; and St. Thomas the Apostle, Peoria Heights.

Deacons are one of three orders of ordained ministers, the others being priests and bishops. Those who are studying for the priesthood are known as transitional deacons prior to their ordination as priests.

The Second Vatican Council cleared the way for the diaconate to be restored as a permanent order of ministry, with an emphasis on living a life of service in imitation of Jesus.

Because candidates for the permanent diaconate are often married, the formation process includes their wives. The candidates and their wives have met one weekend per month for the past five years, and on April 20-22 the class gathered for the final time before ordination for a retreat at the National Shrine of St. Maximilian Kolbe in Marytown.

Their training has included formation in four areas of ministry: theological, spiritual, human, and pastoral.

Following is brief background information on the deacon candidates supplied by the diocesan Office of the Permanent Diaconate. The listing includes the candidate’s name, their spouse, parish, occupation, and names of children.

— Patrick J. Comfort, Silvia; St. John the Baptist, Clinton; factory maintenance planner; Leah and Ryan.

— Michael P. Crummer, Janice; Corpus Christi, Galesburg; human resources manager.

— Gayle E. Cyrulik Jr., Brenda; St. Patrick’s Church of Merna, Bloomington; retired; Timothy, Caryn, and Megan.

— Donald J. Fraley; St. Matthew’s, Champaign; real estate broker.

— Thomas C. Gainey; Debra; Mary, Our Lady of Peace Parish, Orion; parts manager; Michelle and Chad.

— Dennis J. Gillan, Nanette; St. Anthony’s, Spring Valley; operating engineer; Jeff, Jessica, Rebecca, Neil, Jasmine, Andrew, and Joe.

— Gabriel Guerrero, Diana; St. Hyacinth’s and St. Patrick’s, LaSalle; maintenance; Rosa, Jasmine, Gabriel Jr., Felix and Maribel.

— James F. Heatwole, Liz; St. Mark’s, Peoria; engineer/consultant; Stewart, Oliver, and Isabella.

— Harold (Tony) Herdrich, Lana; Sacred Heart, Dallas City; truck driver; Amy, Sean, and Johana.

— Antonio X. Herrera; St. Mary’s, Bloomington; parish custodian; Antonio and Hugo.

— Aaron Hoste, Elaine; St. Patrick’s, Colona; vice president of corporate accounts, Dohrn Transfer; Nichole, Amanda, and Adam.

— Thomas C. Jagiella, Kathy; St. Joseph’s, Peru; engineer; John, Joseph, Jacob, and Mary Kate.

— Loren F. Keim, Mary; St. Mary’s, Bloomington; manager at State Farm Insurance; Lisa, Matt and Tom.

— Mark Kelsch, Marlynn; St. Thomas the Apostle, Peoria Heights; insurance broker; Molly, Nick, and Rosemary.

— Donald P. Koeberlein, Debbi; St. Mary’s, Pesotum; self-employed farmer and contractor; Jessica, Zachary, Brandon, and Makalah.

— Gary D. Koerner, Connie; St. Mary’s, Downs; management at State Farm Insurance; Trent, Angela, Stuart, Kyle, Kelly, and Ryan.

— Jose Lopez, Estela; Holy Cross, Mendota; maintenance; Jennifer, Danny, Corina, MayRa, and Julio.

— Michael A. Marvin, Kathryn; Holy Trinity, Bloomington; retired from military; Christopher, Nicholas, and Elizabeth.

— John W. Merdian, Jane; St. Edward’s, Chillicothe; controller for J.T. Fennell Company; Melinda, Joe, MaryFrancis, and Margaret.

— Thomas L. Mueller, Therese; Holy Family, Peoria; sales representative for the HVAC industry; Erin, Tom, Katherine, and Benjamin.

— John R. Nelson, Sonia; St. Thomas the Apostle, Peoria Heights; software developer; Jennifer, Sara, David, John, Christopher, and Marie.

— Craig L. Reaktenwalt; St. Ann’s, Peoria; retired Caterpillar worker.

— Robert L. Rodriguez, Minda; Corpus Christi, Galesburg; civil engineer; Mary, Maggie, and Emil.

— Michael C. Schallmoser, Anne; St. Philomena’s, Peoria; case manager for Federal Bureau of Prisons; Conrad.

— William S. Scott, Jacqueline; St. Matthew’s, Champaign; physician; Sarah and Joella.

— Terry L. Stalsberg, Brenda; St. Joseph’s, Roanoke, and St. John’s, Benson; Knights of Columbus field agent; Jonathan.

— Steven R. Tamburini, Linda; St. John the Baptist, Clinton; retired; Ryan and Kathryn.

— Samuel W. Taylor, Kathleen; St. Mary’s, Canton; correctional supply supervisor for IT; Samuel, Luke, and Allison.

— David Zola, Susan; St. Patrick’s, Urbana; professor at the University of Illinois; Sarah, Anne, and Luke.

This is the final class to be formed under the guidance of Msgr. Beebe, who has served as episcopal vicar of the permanent diaconate since 1993. He will be succeeded in June by Msgr. Timothy Nolan, pastor of St. Joseph’s Parish in Pekin.

Msgr. Beebe expressed gratitude to Bishop Jenky and Bishop John J. Myers for the opportunity to serve the deacon community.

“It’s something I have loved doing,” said Msgr. Beebe.

“I’m very grateful for the service of deacons and their wives to the Diocese of Peoria,” he continued. “I think of the many good things that would not be happening in the diocese if not for the very quiet and often unnoticed service of deacons. I’m very proud of them and what they do.”

A 30th member of the class, James A. Brewer of St. Joseph’s Parish in Ivesdale, will be ordained at a later date.

SPALDING PASTORAL CENTER | 419 NE MADISON AVENUE | PEORIA, IL 61603 | PHONE (309) 671-1550 | FAX (309) 671-1595
© Copyright 2024 - The Catholic Post || All Rights Reserved || Design by TBare.com