29 are honored by Diocesan Council of Catholic Women

Photo Caption: Honorees from 16 parishes pose for a group photo at the Diocesan Council of Catholic women’s Appreciation Luncheon April 14.

By: By Jennifer Willems

There were certificates and applause for 29 special women at the Peoria Diocesan Council of Catholic Women’s Appreciation Luncheon on April 14, but the gratitude that filled the conference room at the Spalding Pastoral Center in Peoria extended to all of their guests, too.

“I thank you for coming,” said Msgr. Dale Wellman, DCCW moderator and pastor of Sacred Heart Parish in Moline. “Thank you for your dedication and service on behalf of all your pastors. Without you, it wouldn’t get done.”

The “it” is thousands of hours of hard work, emotional support and spiritual care provided by women in parishes around the Diocese of Peoria each year. Sixteen parishes nominated 28 of them for recognition by the DCCW this year.

The honorees included:

— Bernadine Van Hyfte Schrader, Sacred Heart, Annawan
— Jean Causemaker, St. Anthony’s, Atkinson
— Henrietta DeDecker, St. Anthony’s, Atkinson
— Angie Reed, St. John Vianney, Cambridge
— Patricia V. Wiley, St. John Vianney, Cambridge
— Janet Carpenter, Corpus Christi, Galesburg
— Joan Mattson, Immaculate Heart of Mary, Galesburg
— Mita Santos, Immaculate Heart of Mary, Galesburg
— Mary Gillispie, St. Malachy’s, Geneseo
— Ilene Hamer, St. Malachy’s, Geneseo
— Georgia Berlinski, St. Mary’s, Kewanee
— Jeanne DeConinck, St. Mary’s, Kewanee
— Ann Brodell, Sacred Heart, Moline
— Joan Irwin, Sacred Heart, Moline
— Denese Bevard, St. Joseph’s, Pekin
— Alice Carr, St. Joseph’s, Pekin
— Cheryl Kaiser, St. Jude’s, Peoria
— Mary Kay Matarelli, St. Jude’s Peoria
— Diane Ingle, St. Mary of the Woods, Princeville
— Janet Nauman, St. Mary of the Woods, Princeville
— Prudence (Prudy) Morgan, Our Lady of Guadalupe, Silvis
— Delores Nelson, Our Lady of Guadalupe, Silvis
— Julie Donovan, St. John the Evangelist, Walnut
— Carol Eckberg, St. John the Evangelist, Walnut
— Phyllis Scheuer, St. Mary’s, Wenona
— JoAnn Thompson, St. Mary’s, Westville
— Diane Johnson, St. John the Apostle, Woodhull, and
— Vicky Johnson, St. John the Apostle, Woodhull

Many of the honorees sported corsages and several were accompanied by their pastors, husbands and daughters.

In addition, a special diocesan award was given to Nympha White of Grand Ridge, the group’s treasurer for the last four years. It was intended as a surprise — and succeeded as she smiled and shook her head in disbelief.

“I bought my own bouquet (for the table). Now I’m taking it home,” she told The Catholic Post with a laugh. “Of course, I do it all for our church. That’s what counts.”

White’s service includes delivering items collected by the DCCW to the inmates at Dwight Correctional Center, membership on the Bishop’s Commission on Women in the Church and in Society, and ministering as a CCD teacher at St. Columba’s Parish in Ottawa for many years.

“We just pray that you are blessed for all you do to honor and glorify our Lord by supporting and encouraging women and children and men in the diocese,” said Joan Weber, DCCW president. “Thank you, Nympha.”

Weber also called attention to upcoming events sponsored by the DCCW, including a day of reflection on Wednesday, May 5. It will be held from 9:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the Community of St. John, 11223 Legion Hall Road in Princeville. The spiritual director will be Father John Therese, CSJ.

The cost for the day is $22, which includes lunch. Reservations, due by April 30, may be made by calling Mary Anna Meyer at (309) 691-3874, or Weber at (309) 243-1617.

The account in the newsprint edition of The Catholic Post included several more photos as well as brief biographies of each honoree. To subscribe to The Catholic Post, click on the “How to Subscibe” link in the left hand column of this page.

SPALDING PASTORAL CENTER | 419 NE MADISON AVENUE | PEORIA, IL 61603 | PHONE (309) 671-1550 | FAX (309) 671-1595
© Copyright 2024 - The Catholic Post || All Rights Reserved || Design by TBare.com